Marrakech in Three Days


Marrkech in Three Days

Day 1

Arrival – 1st evening: In the evening you can go with Lucien for dinner in the restaurant “La Cantine des Gazelles” also heated if necessary (about 7-9 euro menu à la carte, delicious and clean food at best price), then tour of the Place Jemaa el Fnaa, exchange of money in Hotel Ali (best course in Marrakech, Open 24 hours), back in our riad, maybe drink a tea on the terrace.

Day 2

After breakfast on foot in approx. 15 minutes to the Jemaa el Fna, then to the north- west souks to the Dar Cherifa, a sher well-looked-after riad from the 17th century, cultural center away from mass tourism with a very genuine atmosphere. Go to the roof terrace and drink a tea or spice coffee at the bottom of the patio and read the chapter “Over the Roofs of Marrakech” from Elias Canetti’s book “The Voices of Marrakech” and perhaps a fairy tale (the milk swindler and the monkey). You find it in he library in my riad.

Then through the streets of the Funduks (caravanseries, very interesting, a lot of atmosphere, partly still original, partly with interesting handicraft), Fontaine Mouassine, to the open air restaurant of Abdelhay near the mosque Ben Youssuf where you have a tasting menu with nice little things for 6 Euro gets. Then back to Jemaa el Fna. Onn the way stop on the spices place Rhaba Khedima where you can have a cup of tea with a view of the square on the small terrace of the “Café des Epices”. One you arrive at Jemaa el Fna drink an orange juice at stand 35, briefly cross over to the venerable Kotubiamoschee (you can not enter, but the gardens behind it are very beautiful and in the winter months there should be oranges at the little trees).

Back to our riad, late afternoon you may visit the neighborhood hammam, best with our dear Arab neighbor Reda, who can also regulate this for female guests (strict sex separation!) Let you have a great soap massage and introduce into the procedures. You should calculate 100 Dirham incl. Admission. Take your swimsuit with you (never naked), bring your towel. Black olive soap, scrubbing glove and ladle will be provided for you.

In the evening, take the bus number 1 to Guiliz, the new City. Leave the bus after the square du 16 Novembre (Mac Donalds) in Front of the Carree Eden, a modern shoipping Center, cross Boulevard, and turn into the first street. After 150m you will find the great fish restaurant “Al Bahria”. Super Paella, Super Fritture Royale for about 5 Euros is enough for 2, supplements inclusive or you are looking for the fish at the counter, and let it grill. This is also very cheap and very fresh – a real insider tip. Nearby there is also the beer garden from the colonial times (Lucien knows), cheap beer among gum trees, only Moroccans, no tourists. Then best with taxi (about 4 euro) back home or intermediate stop at the place.

Day 3

In the morning go to the the Saadien tombs. Be there at 8.55, because otherwise too many people are in line and you may loose one hour in the queue. This is the “Taj Mahal” of Marrakech, about 25 minutes walk from our riad on foot. Then perhaps in the Berber Pharmcy in Bab Aganaou, where a perfectly English speaking Moroccan Pharmacist will explain everything about spices, agan oil and Arabic traditional medicine. Very interesting, everything to smell, feel and try. All products are certified organic and high quality, but also expensive. No buying force. Here you should not buy cooking agan oil, too expensive and also no saffron. The other things, especially the ointments, creams and aromatic or massage oil and fragrances are excellent and worth their money.

Afterwards in the El Badi Palace, (Storkpalace) once the largest palace complex of the Mahgreb, seat of the Sultan Ahmed the Magnificent. There, possibly in front of the former throne pavilion read the fairytale of the elephant “The gift of the Sultan”, which could have played there quite possibly. In the rear left corner of the Court is a short animated film to see, which gives a perfect impression of the former beauty.

Then continue through the Place Ferblantier (Brass Forge) and the spice Market (Mellah, former Ghetto), where you get fresh local spices at the local spice merchants. Our Spice Merchant of confidence will give you the best spices at the price for locals . And he can explain everything in english. Continue just opposite the exit of the Mellah to the Bahia Palace (entrance 1 euro), seeable plant with beautiful rooms and cedar wood ceilings and harem (Entrance fee 1 euro).

Then take the Rue Zitoun, turn right to the very interesting Dar Si Said Museum (entrance 1 €). The splendor on the first floor are the most beautiful of Marrakech, the garden with well is also very worth seeing and you get a good impression as the rich lived there. It ewas the first Museum of the town of Marrakech. There are only a few tourists, (just do not go to the the Bahia-Palais if too many tourist groups around there). Then continue to Jemaa el Fna in 5 minutes. There, in a small hidden side street near the Café de France the lamb shops “restaurants”. The lamb that is baked in the mud stoves in the ground (Mechoui) is an absolute favorite of the Moroccans, best lamb ever !! Secret tip, daily except fridays. Lucien knows it. Open the lids of the stoves and take pictures down to where the lambs went to spits. Buy yourself a kilo of lamb meat, which you get on a tray with bread and eat it right in the niche behind the stove or let it be brought to a nearby restaurant and order a tea. The people at the sales counters will organize all for you. You pay at the shop after meal. An archaic dining experience, especially since these mud stoves have been heated daily for more than 800 years.

Then take a trip to Rue Darbachi, the busiest street that leads to the most popular Ben Saleh district. After about 150 m, after a small place with restaurants on the right side you find a small juice shop where you get the best fruit pulp mix in Morocco for 50 cents, always freshly made, take “Panaché” (mixed in layers in the glass).

Then go back to our riad, this time simply follow rue Darbachi towards the Ben Salah Mosque, then turn left into Rue Azbezt. Follow the sign to the Musée de la Boucherouite (closed on Sundays) in the same block of houses where we live. The museum is an absolute secret tip. Here, in one of the most beautiful renovated Riads in Marrakech, you will discover very special “Rugs”, which are actually abstract art, discovered and collected by a very interesting Frenchman (Patrick) who will tell you a lot of interesting facts when you tell him that you are friends of mine. The house and the carpets are unique, have nothing to do with the carpets you can buy on the bazaar, is real art by women from the high atlas. On the beautiful roof terrace you can have a coffee or tea or taste Habibas wonderful applecake. Then go back to the riad, maybe Lucien cooks something and you eat on the roof terrace (pleaseorder before).

Day 4

Best morning 8 clock !!! By taxi (by bus is cumbersome) to the Jardin Majorelle, the second most beautiful garden of Marrakech in the New city, (unfortunately expensive entrance about 7 euros), with fantastic succulents and cactuses and the villa and grave of Ives Saint Laurent and one small but fine Berber-Museum. The garden is a tourist “must” therefore from 9 clock terribly overcrowded, especially in the high seasons.

From there either by taxi or on foot (about 15 minutes) to the northern city gate, Bab Doukala. Go through the city gate and then follow always straight the Rue du Bab Doukala, very busy typical absolutely untouristic shopping street in about 15 minutes to the Mederse Ben Youssuf, the most beautiful coranic school of Marrakech. An absolute must! Entrance fee 2 euros. Possibly the Musee de Marrakech, an interesting stylishly renovated palace with huge covered courtyard, hammam and interesting exhibitions.

From there in 5 minutes to the highly interesting “Musé de la Photographie”, a small but fine private museum, also led by a friend of mine, also named Patrick, who can also explain a lot. Very interesting selection of historical photos, especially of people and souks and landscapes, great roof terrace where you can also have magnificent views over Marrakech. You can eat a tajine or drink tea there. (If you want lunch, you can go there first from the Bab Doukala and then visit the Mederse and the museum on the way back).
ATTENTION !!!: do not trust anybody in this area who wants to show you the tanneries – “les Tanneurs” – free of charge. The area is unclear and you hardly find out anymore and if you do not buy anything in the much expensive leather stores, you will pass through “by chance”, while getting out of the tannery, you will be in trouble. There is only unnecessary trouble and time loss. Hands off!!!
Afternoon free for strolls over the souks, in the evening back to the riad.

Alternatively to the Jardin Majorelle, I recommend the Anima-Garden (www.anima-garden.com) by André Heller, a bit out of the way, but excellent and free to reach by shuttle bus from Parking La Koutoubia (behind the Koutoubia Mosque). Departures 9:30 • 11:30 • 14:30 • 16:30) The garden has not yet overflowed and a wonderful rest from the hustle and bustle of the city.

All informations to the best of my knowledge, but without engagement.

Have fun in Marrakech!

Michael

Marrakesch in drei Tagen


Marrakesch in drei Tagen

Tag 1

Ankunft- 1. Abend. Abends mit Lucien zum Essen ins Restaurant “La Cantine des Gazelles” auch geheizt wenn nötig (Ca. 7-9 Euro Menü a la Carte), dann Rundgang über den Platz Place Jemaa el Fnaa, Geldwechseln im Hotel Ali (bester Kurs in Marrakesch, 24. Std. geöffnet), zurück in unser Riad, vielleicht einen Tee auf der Terrasse trinken.

Tag 2

Nach dem Frühstück zu Fuß in Ca. 15 Minuten gemütlich zur Jemaa el Fna, dann durch die nordwestlichen Souks zum Dar Cherifa, einem sehr sehenswerten gut renovierten Riad aus dem 17. Jahrhundert, Kulturzentrum abseits des Massentourismus mit viel Atmosphäre. Geht auf die Dachterrasse und trinkt unten im Patio einen Tee oder Gewürzkaffee und lest das Kapitel “Über den Dächern von Marrakesch“ aus Elias Canetti ́s Buch „Die Stimmen von Marrakesch“ und vielleicht ein Märchen (der Milchpantscher und der Affe), das Ihr in der Bibliothek in meinem Riad findet.

Dann durch die Straßen der Funduks (Karawansereien, sehr interessant, viel Atmosphäre, teils noch ganz original, teils mit interessantem Kunsthandwerk), Fontaine Mouassine, zum Open air Restaurant von Abdelhay nahe der Moschee Ben Youssuf, wo ihr ein Degustationsmenü mit netten Kleinigkeiten für 6 Euro bekommt. Dann über die Färbermärkte und Souks, den ehemaligen Sklavenmarkt, Fetischmarkt, Teppichmarkt, mit Zwischenstopp auf der hübschen Place Rahba Khedima wo man ganz wunderbar auf der kleinen Terrasse des „Café des Epices” einen Tee mit Blick auf den Platz trinken kann, zurück zur Jemaa el Fna, eine Orangensaft trinken am Stand 35, kurz rüber laufen zur ehrwürdigen Kotubiamoschee (man darf aber nicht hinein, aber die Gärten dahinter sind sehr schön und in den Wintermonaten sollte es dort Orangen an den Bäumchen geben.).

Zurück zum Riad, spätnachmittags evtl. in den Nachbarschaftshamam, am besten mit unserem lieben arabischen Nachbarn Reda, der das auch für weibliche Gäste regeln kann (strenge Geschlechtertrennung!). Lasst Euch eine tolle Seifenmassage verabreichen und in die Prozeduren einführen. Ihr solltet dafür kalkulieren incl. Eintritt. (Badehose mitnehmen (nie nackt), Handtuch mitnehmen, Schwarze Olivenseife, Rubbelhandschuh und Schöpfkelle werden Euch gestellt).

Abends mit dem Bus Nummer 1 in die Neustadt, nach dem Platz du 16 Novembre aussteigen (vor dem Carree Eden), Boulevard überqueren, und links in die erste Straße 100 m reingehen. Hier findet Ihr direkt das tolle Fischrestaurant Al Bahria. Super Paella, Super Fritture Royale für etwa 5 Euro reicht für 2, Beilagen inklusive oder Ihr sucht euch den Fisch an der Theke raus, und lasst ihn grillen. Das ist auch sehr günstig und sehr frisch, ein Geheimtipp. In der Nähe gibt es auch den Biergarten aus der Kolonialzeit, den Lucien kennt, günstiges Bier unter Gummibäumen, nur Marokkaner, keine Touristen. Danach am besten mit Taxi (ca. 4 Euro) zurück nach Hause oder Zwischenstopp an der Place.

Tag 3

Morgens um 8.55 an den Saadiergräbern sein, da sonst zu viele Leute anstehen. Das ist das “Taj Mahal” von Marrakesch, ca. 25 Minuten von unserm Riad zu Fuß entfernt. Dann eventuell in die Berberapotheke im Bab Aganaou, wo Euch ein perfekt deutsch sprechender Marokkaner alles über Gewürze, Aganöl und arabische traditionelle Medizin erklären wird. Sehr interessant, alles zum Riechen, Fühlen und Probieren. Alle Produkte dort sind zertifiziert Bio und hochwertig, aber eben auch teuer. Kein Kaufzwang. Hier solltet Ihr aber kein Koch- Aganöl dort kaufen, zu teuer und auch keinen Safran. Die anderen Dinge, vor allem die Salben, Cremes und Aroma- bzw. Massageöl und Duftsteine sind hervorragend und ihr Geld wert.

Anschließend in den El Badi Palast, (Storchenpalast) einst die größte Palastanlage des Maghreb, Sitz des Sultans Ahmed des Prächtigen. Dort vor dem ehemaligen Thronpavillion eventuell das Märchen vom Elefanten „Das Geschenk des Sultans“ lesen, das durchaus dort gespielt haben könnte. Im hinteren linken Eck des Palasthofs ist ein kurzer animierter Film zu sehen, der einem einen guten Eindruck gibt von der ehemaligen Prachtentfaltung.

Dann weiter über die Place Ferblantier (Messingschmiede) und den Gewürzmarkt (Mellah, Judenviertel), wo Ihr bei unserem Gewürzhändler frische Gewürze zum Einheimischenpreis bekommt, zum Bahia-Palast (Eintritt 1 Euro), sehenswerte Anlage, mit wunderschönen Zimmerfluchten und tollen Zedernholzdecken und Harem (Eintritt 1 Euro).

Dann über die Rue Zitoun zurück, Abstecher rechts zum sehr interessanten Museum Dar Si Said (Einritt 1 €). Die Prunkgemächer im 1. Stock sind die schönsten von Marrakesch, der Garten mit Brunnen ist auch sehr sehenswert und man bekommt einen guten Eindruck wie die Reichen dort lebten. Hier gibts nur wenige Touristen, (also eher den Bahia-Palais auslassen wenn Zuviel Touristengruppen sich dort rumtreiben). Dann weiter in 5 Minuten zum Platz Jemaa el Fna. Dort, in einer kleinen verborgenen Nebengasse nahe des Café de France die Lammbratereien suchen, wo das Lamm aus den Lehmöfen im Boden kommt (Mechoui) eine absolute Lieblingsspeise der Marokkaner, bestes Lamm ever!! Geheimtipp, täglich außer Freitags. Lucien kennt es. Lasst Euch die Deckel der Öfen öffnen und fotografiert runter wo die Lämmer an Spieße vor sich hingaren. Kauft Euch (Kilopreis 15 Euro, vor Euch abgewogen und geschnitten) ein wenig Lammfleisch, das Ihr auf ein Tablett bekommt mit Brot und esst es gleich evtl in der Nische hinter dem Ofen oder lasst es Euch in ein nahegelegenes Restaurant bringen und bestellt einen Tee dazu. Das regeln alles die Leute bei den Verkaufstheken. Bezahlt wird wenn man geht. Ein archaisches Esserlebnis, zumal an dieser Stelle seit 800 Jahren diese Lehmöfen täglich geheizt werden.

Danach macht Ihr einen Abstecher in die Rue Darbachi, die belebteste Straße, die ins populärste Ben Saleh Viertel führt. Nach ca. 150 m, nach einem kleinen Platz mit Restaurants gibts auf der rechten Seite einen kleinen Saftladen, wo ihr für 50 Cent den besten Fruchtpulpe mix in Marokko bekommt, immer ganz frisch gemacht, nehmt „Panaché” (in Schichten im Glas gemischt).

Geht dann zurück zu unserem Riad, diesmal einfach die Rue Dabachi in Richtung Moschee Ben Salah, dann links in die Rue Azbezt. Folgt dem Wegweiser zum Musée de la Boucherouite (sonntags geschlossen) in dem selben Häuserblock wo wir wohnen. Das Museum ist ein absoluter Geheimtipp. Hier seht ihr in einem der hübschesten renovierten Riads von Marrakesch ganz besondere „Fleckerteppiche“, die eigentlich abstrakte Kunst sind, von einem sehr interessanten Franzosen (Patrick) entdeckt und gesammelt wurden, der Euch, wenn ihr ihm sagt, dass Ihr Freunde von mir seid, viel Interessantes erzählen wird. Das Haus und die Teppiche sind einmalig, hat nichts mit den Teppichen zu tun, die man auf dem Bazar kaufen kann, ist echte Kunst von Frauen aus dem hohen Atlas. Auf der wunderschönen Dachterrasse könnt Ihr einen Kaffee oder Tee trinken oder den wunderbaren Apfelkuchen von Habiba probieren. Dann wieder zurück zum Riad, vielleicht kocht Euch ja Lucien etwas und Ihr esst auf der Dachterrasse (vorher bestellen).

Tag 4

Am besten morgens 8 Uhr!!! mit dem Taxi (mit dem Bus ist umständlich) zum Jardin Majorelle, dem inzwischen zweitschönsten Garten von Marrakesch in der Neustadt, (leider teurer Eintritt ca. 7 Euro), mit fantastischen Sukkulenten und Kakteen und der Villa und Grab von Ives Saint Laurent und einem kleinen aber feinen Berbermuseum. Der Garten ist ein touristisches „Muss“ darum ab 9 Uhr schrecklich überfüllt, vor allem in den Saisonzeiten.

Von dort entweder mit Taxi oder zu Fuß (ca. 15 Minuten) zum nördlichen Stadttor, Bab Doukala. Geht durch das Stadttor und dann die Rue du Bab Doukala, sehr belebte typische absolut untouristische Einkaufsstraße in ca. 15 Minuten bis zur Mederse Ben Youssuf, der schönsten Koranschule von Marrakesch. Ein absolutes MUSS!!! Eintritt 2 Euro. Eventuell daneben das Musée de Marrakesch ansehen, ein interessanter stilvoll renovierter Palast mit riesigem überdachtem Hof, Hamam und interessanten Ausstellungen.

Von dort in 5 Minuten zum hochinteressanten „Musée de la Photographie“, einem kleinen, aber feinen Privatmuseum, geführt auch von einen Freund von mir, auch namens Patrick, der auch viel erklären kann. Sehr interessante Auswahl an historischen Fotos, vor allem von Menschen und Sous und Landschaften, tolle Dachterrasse wo man auch mit herrlichem Blick über Marrakesch. Ihr könnt dort eine Tajine essen oder Tee trinken kann. (Falls Ihr dort Mittagessen möchtet, könnt ihr vom Bab Doukala zuerst dorthin gehen und am Rückweg dann die Mederse und das Museum besuchen). ACHTUNG!!!: lasst Euch in dieser Gegend auf keinen Fall von Leuten abschleppen, die Euch kostenlos die Gerbereien – “Les Tanneurs” – zeigen wollen. Die Gegend ist unübersichtlich und ihr findet kaum mehr raus und wenn ihr nichts in den viel zu teuren Lederläden kauft, durch die man “zufällig” durchmuss, wenn man aus der Gerberei wieder raus will, dann gibt’s Schwierigkeiten. Es gibt nur unnötigen Ärger und Zeitverlust. Finger weg!!! Nachmittags frei für Schlendern über die Souks, abends zurück zum Riad.

Alternativ empfehle ich den Anima-Garden (www.anima-garden.com) von André Heller, etwas außerhalb, aber hervorragend und kostenlos mit dem Shuttlebus vom Parking La Koutoubia (hinter der Koutoubia-Moschee) erreichbar. (Abfahrzeiten: 09:30 • 11:30 • 14:30 • 16:30). Der Garten ist noch nicht überlaufen und eine herrliche Erholung von der Hektik der Stadt.

Alle Informationen nach bestem Wissen oder Gewissen aber ohne Garantie!

Viel Spaß in Marrakesch

Michael